Lean ‘n Green

26 May

Good morning! It is SO good to be home, in my own kitchen, cooking my own food, and eating LOTS of fruits and veggies! IMG_1548After running for an hour and 45 minutes (and it felt amazing…beautiful day, great run), I wanted a nice, healthy breakfast. But keep in mind I still hadn’t gotten groceries, so I had to throw something together that would satisfy my body’s healthy cravings with my limited resources. I managed to McGiver up something pretty tasty though!

IMG_1549Thankfully, my garden helped me out with the green part of this breakfast. I sautéed some fresh arugula and chives to make an egg substitute omelette (I had an unopened carton in the fridge so it was still good). I sautéed the veggies over medium high-heat just until wilted (see photo). Then, I reduced the heat until medium-low and poured in 1/2 cup of egg substitute, let set slightly, then flip and stir around, added salt and pepper, and repeat. I topped it with one wheel of light Babybel cheese (sliced), then put a lid on the pan to help it melt.

IMG_1550

On the side, I made a super smoothie with 1.5 cups frozen strawberries and rasperries, slightly thawed; 1 cup vanilla almond milk, a touch of Splenda and a handful of frozen, chopped spinach (you couldn’t even taste it, I promise!!! Just wanted to get in more greens). Altogether, it was a totally satisfying breakfast, and exactly what my body craved. Like the napkin? I got this cute set (and some new bowls) in Vegas…stay tuned for more!

If you look at the breakfast, you might be asking, “where are the carbs?” A couple of times before when I’ve overindulged/want to take off a few pounds, I’ve tried cutting back on the carbs for a few days and had success. I’m no hard-core Atkins-style girl, I just eliminate things like bread, pasta, and most importantly, the sweets. I won’t do it for any longer than a week (and I’m not sure if I’ll last that long), just for a little bit to help get myself back on track. I definitely don’t believe in low-carbing it for the long run, this will just be my kick-start to getting back to my healthy eating habits.IMG_1552IMG_1553

 

 

 

 

 

 

After work today (thankfully I just had a half day), I purchased more green to add to my life. I normally plant my vegetable and herb gardens over the May long weekend, but since I was away, I was itching to get started. I haven’t done any planting yet, but I bought all of my veggies and herbs. I can’t wait! I’ve got some of my old favourites, and am trying a few new things – I will share once I’ve got it all in the ground.

After a healthy lunch, then a grocery trip to re-stock the house with LOTS of produce, then a healthy supper with some local asparagus (yes, it’s still on, thank goodness), I am feeling much better about things! Thanks for sticking with me through all of my food issues. Winking smile

Have you planted/are you planting a vegetable and/or herb garden this year?

3 Responses to “Lean ‘n Green”

  1. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel May 26, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Mmmm babybel cheese, for some reason i only eat those at christmas!
    Glad you are back and happy to be eating at home
    Way to go on the killer run!
    Oh and can’t forget to say, love the napkin 🙂

    • hungryhealthyhilary May 26, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

      Thank you! I have 4 in different neon colours, so expect to see more of them. 🙂

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way May 27, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    Mmmm spinach in smoothies…My fav! You are so right, sneaky sneaky you can’t taste it!!

    You must be feeling SO awesome to be home and packin in the veg!!

    I’ve never had a garden BUT Jeff and I will be landscaping out backyard soon and I am definitely taking the plunge…I would like one to be an herb garden but we shall see!

Leave a Reply

