Salad Days

27 May

IMG_1564

Eating lots of salads to get back on track and help shed a few pounds sounds kind of brutal, doesn’t it? Visions of scarfing down endless bowls of greens sounds sort of like punishment. I ate a nice, big healthy salad for both lunch and dinner yesterday, and it was anything but boring. And although it was healthy, it didn’t seem like “diet food” to me.

Just look at that big, beautiful salad (last night’s supper) – doesn’t it look yummy? I’m not sure if I will remember all the veggies in it, but I will try. I started out with some mixed greens, then added:

  • multi-colour grape tomatoes
  • cucumber
  • cauliflower
  • snow peas
  • orange bell pepper
  • asparagus (just slightly cooked, so it was still tender-crisp)
  • fresh parsley and chives (thank you, perennial herbs in my garden Smile)
  • red onion
  • frozen corn kernels, thawed
  • jarred roasted red peppers
  • broccoli slaw mix
  • sliced sundried tomatoes

IMG_1561

My protein was this PC Blue Menu Mediterranean Herb Turkey Filet (I split the whole thing between 2 salads for my mom and I). This was my first time eating this turkey and it DEFINATELY won’t be my last! I cooked it on the grill, and it was soooo tender and tasty!

IMG_1563

This is what the whole thing looked like after I grilled it. I let it rest for a good 15 or 20 minutes. I didn’t want it steaming hot on the salad, and also, if you cut meat right after you take it off the grill, all the juices run out and it’s not as tender and juicy (it’s true, not just something they say on tv).

I layered the chopped turkey on top of all the other veggies, seasoned with freshly cracked garlic sea salt (Epicure, of course Winking smile) and black pepper, and topped the whole thing off with sliced avocado. My dressing was a mix of 1 tsp olive oil, Dijon mustard, fat-free Italian dressing and some simply delicious Raspberry Baco Noir wine vinegar I bought in a fancy wine vinegar mini six-pack back in March when my sister and I had dinner in wine country). These vinegars ROCK! As I said to my mom, often on fancy-sounding vinegars like that, the names are just for show, but you really CAN taste the unique flavour in each one.

Everything came together fantastically for an absolutely amazing salad. IMG_1562Seriously, sooo good (and huge too, I like that in my food). But even better still? I concurrently made a salad for today’s lunch! Everything was the same, minus the corn, turkey and avocado, and plus some chopped deli ham. I love making supper and lunch at the same time – saves on all the chopping and prep.

 

IMG_1555

IMG_1554

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I did the same thing on Wednesday night when I made a fantastically tasty pork tenderloin for supper (made a quick rub of garlic salt, fajita seasoning, cumin, chili powder and Epicure salsa seasoning) and then threw it on top of an Asian-style broccoli slaw for yesterday’s lunch….don’t you just love cooking ahead?

IMG_1557

So you may be wondering, how’s the low carb thing going after 2 days (even if you’re not, I’m gonna share)? As you can see, it’s involved a lot of salads and lean proteins. But I’ve also come up with some tasty sweet options (which I will share on the weekend). I will never say that I like not eating carbs (you know how much I LOVE my desserts, and my beloved vitatops, and bread…), but honestly, it hasn’t been that bad. I think my body was just craving lean options (mostly veggies and fruit) so much that it’s been happy with the change. But mind you, this is me after only 2 days….we’ll see how long it lasts!

I’m hoping to get my veggies and herbs in the ground this weekend (maybe even tonight), so expect an update on that to come too. Happy Friday everyone!

One Response to “Salad Days”

  1. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel May 27, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Omg i have to try that pc turkey!!!
    You are stronger then me, 2 hours without carbs and i’m meaner then mean 🙂
    Love love love the salads and lean meat
    You are kicking some healthy ass 😀
    Can’t wait to see the desserts you have come up with!

Leave a Reply

