Bowled Over

28 May

IMG_1558

So I promised you I’d share the low carb-ish desserts I came up with, and I am delivering (well, one of the things I’m going to share in this post is actually a breakfast, but it fits with my theme, you’ll see). While in Vegas, I bought 4 new bowls and napkins. Partially because I think my blog pics tend to look a little white (white plates, white counter), and partially inspired by slight jealousy for Katie’s beautiful bowls, I decided to invest in a few fun and funky new bowls, and stylish background napkins to go with them. You saw a sneak preview already in this post of the napkin. In today’s post, you’ll see all 4 colours/sizes of bowls and all 4 snazzy napkins.

I have always loved Fiesta Dinnerware and its simple, bright colours. I’ve even stayed at a hotel right near the factory where it’s made (that’s not why I stayed there, just a coincidence). So when I was shopping in Dillard’s in Vegas and saw that it was on sale (score!) and already had a hankering for new bowls, it was a no-brainer!

So the first shot, featuring the small eggplant bowl and the pink napkin is strawberry banana soft serve. Doesn’t it go beautifully with the colour of the napkin? A perfect light and refreshing dessert that fits with my low-carb plan (it might not be traditionally low carb, since I think bananas have a lot of carbs for fruit, but it works for me Winking smile).

IMG_1559

In the orange medium-sized bowl on the orange napkin, we have a simply divine peanut butter and banana concoction. To make the base, I mixed 3 tbsp light ricotta, 1/3 cup fat-free plain Greek yogurt, a splash of vanilla extract, a bit of Splenda and 2 tbsp PB2. To that, I added one chopped banana and gave it a good stir. Seriously: SO GOOD! Not even, “oh this is good for a healthy, low carb-ish dessert,” like, this is an insanely delicious peanut butter and banana dessert…TRY IT!

IMG_1560

Up next, in the medium-sized lime green bowl on the lime green napkin, is our one breakfast option (sorry for the bad photo, but I’ve said it before, I’m in a time crunch when it comes to breakfast photography). I made a smoothie in a bowl with 1.5 cups frozen strawberries, thawed ever-so-slightly for easier blending, 1 cup vanilla almond milk and Splenda. I swirled it with a mix of regular plain and Greek yogurts, and topped with 1 cup fresh pineapple chunks (to be low-carb, topped with the fruit instead of my usual cereal). Another beautiful bowl! The sweet smoothie, tangy yogurt, and fresh pineapple combined to make a seriously delicious bowl of breakfast.

IMG_1565

Last but not least, in the small blue bowl on the blue napkin, is a creamy apple cinnamon dessert. I did my usual sauté an apple with water, cinnamon and splenda on medium-high until tender routine (bought Pink Lady apples for the first time since they were what looked good at the grocery store…pickings are slim this time of year). I mixed 3 tbsp light ricotta and 1/3 cup fat-free plain Greek yogurt, a splash of vanilla and a touch of Splenda, then mixed it together and topped with a few shakes of cinnamon. Another winner!

So you see, dessert fits into any lifestyle, even when I’m cutting back on carbs. You just have to get a bit creative in the kitchen, and you can eat what you crave if you’re smart about it. So, after 3 days, low carb-ing it is still going okay. I actually enjoy the challenge in a way, because it forces me to think outside the box a bit, and I have to eat more “whole” foods, as opposed to stuff from a box. Not sure how many more days I’ll go, as I am feeling better already, but we’ll see. I have to admit, I did “cheat”  a bit last night, as I was making these brownies for a friend, and had a little taste (or two) of  the batter! Winking smile But that’s ok…they’re made with pumpkin, so a little batter won’t kill me!

What is your favourite “healthy” dessert?

2 Responses to “Bowled Over”

  1. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way May 28, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    hahaha now I’M jealous of YOUR bowls 😉 My fav is the yellow one!

    Such create desserts!!

    My fav healthy dessert would either have to be any of my homemade muffins, soft serve or homemade granola with plain green yogurt and fruit!!

    • hungryhealthyhilary May 28, 2011 at 10:55 am #

      Haha…I assume by green yogurt, you mean Greek….as in, not yogurt that has mold on it! 😉 Too bad we didn’t live live closer (again) or we could do a “blog bowl swap.”

Leave a Reply

