Oh Happy Day!

6 Jun

Mondays do not make me the happiest. I’m sure most of you are right there with me (if you love Mondays, prove me wrong and tell me why). So, I thought I’d help start your (and my) weeks off on the right foot by sharing some recent happy happenings in the life of HHH.

IMG_1667

Happy Thing Number One: Tofu shirataki noodles are now available at a grocery store near me! Smile SmileSmileSmile A reader (thanks Jessie) told me she saw them at her local Sobey’s. I was working in Brantford on Wednesday, so I decided to stop at the Sobey’s there after work (we do have a Sobey’s in Simcoe, but the Brantford one is right on my way home). And lo and behold, there were my beloved noodles, right beside the tofu! I no longer have to drive to Whole Foods or Buffalo or order online to get my beloved noodles! Even better, at Sobey’s, the noodles were only $1.99, which I believe is 30 cents cheaper than I’ve ever seen. Score! I can’t really explain how happy this makes me (I know, I need a life). To celebrate, I made some Hungry Girl-fredo with roasted veggies on Saturday…yum!

IMG_1665

Happy Thing Number Two: Peas are sprouting in my garden! I showed you the beans yesterday, but was saving the peas for Monday. They were a bit slower to come up than the beans, and the sprouts are tiny, but they’re on their way. Funny side note: because I am a nerd with a French degree, I find it amusing sometimes to read the translations of things (like I said, I’m a nerd). So how do you say snow pea en français? No, it’s not “petit pois de neige.” It’s actually “des pois mange-tout”. Mange-tout means “eat all,” which actually makes perfect sense, because with snow peas, you eat the whole thing, shell and peas. Neat, huh? (It’s ok if you don’t think so, and are just shaking my head and thinking what a nerd am I and can’t believe you waste your time here, I am content in my nerd-dom).

Happy Thing Number Three: I may be going on an excited blog-related trip at the end of the summer with a fellow blogger (or two).  Nothing is confirmed yet though, so I don’t want so share until things are finalized, bur rest assured, I will share if and when I can.

IMG_1662Happy Thing Number Four: Saturday started with French Toast. Perfect weekend breakfast, if you ask me. It was my usual base, topped with 1/3 cup stewed rhubarb and 3/4 cup sliced fresh LOCAL strawberries! I was totally pumped when I saw them at the market on Thursday. It’s still early, so they were pricey (as in $5 for a quart) but SO worth it. They are so much sweeter and more delicious than the California ones! I finished it off with 3 tbsp light ricotta, mixed with Splenda and vanilla. Mmmm….great way to get the weekend started (if you agree, you can look forward to making this French toast next weekend…maybe strawberries will get cheaper by then). And doesn’t the strawberry rhubarb-ness (yes, I just said rhubarb-ness) look lovely on my cute pink bandana napkin?

Happy Thing Number Five: I’m running a race tomorrow! I can’t believe I haven’t told you guys about this before now, but better late than never. I’m running the 10 K Ancaster Old Mill Race for the second year in a row. Even better? My sister is meeting my at the finish line, and after the delicious catered dinner provided to me (the Ancaster Old Mill is a fine dining restaurant), we’re going for ice cream/fro yo! And not to get all sappy, but this race is sort of the one that “started it all” for me and in a way, lead to me running a marathon….

Last spring, when watching The Biggest Loser (guilty pleasure), I saw the contestants running a marathon. I always had in the back of my mind the goal of running a half marathon, and when I saw the contestants running, I thought, “if they can do it, there’s no reason why I can’t make it up to a half.” But I wanted to start small, so I googled 10 K races in my area, and that’s how I came up with the Mill Race. So I did it, completed it, felt great, the end (not actually).

A friend of mine (who is also a personal trainer and went to university on a rowing scholarship) did another 10 k race around the same time last year. Both of our races were through the same registration company, so somehow she found my result online. She was over at a clothing swap I held last June and told me she was training for a marathon in September, and asked if I had any interest in joining her.

I thought about it for a couple weeks (basically until the night before the fees were set to increase) and then decided to go for it. I could have just done the half, but something in me pushed me to go “all the way,” and I’m so glad I did. Such an amazing experience! And of course, I’ve done a half marathon since then too, so I did fulfill my original goal. Winking smile

So, for as long as I am able, I plan to run this race every year. And now, after a full and half marathon, 10 K seems like no big deal (how much things change in a year). Seriously though, I’ve barely trained at all, so we’ll see how I do. I’d like to improve on last year’s time, but we’ll see. Of course, I’ll let you know.

So those are my 6 happy things (plus a little running story for you) to kick off your week with a smile on your face. What happy happenings have you had lately?

3 Responses to “Oh Happy Day!”

  1. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel June 6, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Ahhhh i’m trying not to get too excited but i’ve already wrote tomorrows post with a YES we are going theme in hopes of giving us the luck to get tickets!!!
    Super excited about your racing – thats amazing
    I actually looked at the Old Mill race but have yet to sign up for anything else this year, have to get my darn leg feeling better first 😛
    I really really really want some of your stewed rhubarb, must make some so i can stop telling you that already 🙂

  2. Katie @ Real Food Katie's Way June 7, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Hooray for garden goodness! I am stoked to see everything come up!!

    Mondays suck for me too…Everyone puts everything off until Monday at work and it usually falls on me so I’m a busy bee!

    I sure hope you both got tickets to the “thing”!!

    GOOD LUCK ON THE RACE! HAVE SO MUCH FUN!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life is funny… « hungryhealthyhilary - August 5, 2011

    […] Oh Happy Day! Ok, so compared to a lot of the tear-jerking, emotional posts out there, this might not be at the top. But it does tell the story of why I ran a marathon, and shares the joy of new growth in the garden, so those things are beautiful to me. […]

Leave a Reply

