Slow Run, Shape up and Sundae

9 Jun

IMG_1697Happy Thursday all! The weekend is only a day away…hang in there (and don’t melt)! So, this post is updating you on a few things: Tuesday’s Ancaster Old Mill Race 10 K, the latest on my progress in the Shape up for Summer challenge, and pretty much the awesomest soft serve sundae of life (not kidding).

So, first off, the run. I will apologize for the lack of photos, but I was all by my lonesome at the start, didn’t feel like lugging the camera with me during the race, and my sister met me a little after the end. So the photo of me at the top is a self portrait (and actually not too bad at that, considering how terrible I typically am at taking them) before IMG_1695the race began and I slowly but surely melted into a sweaty mess. I don’t know where you were on Tuesday night, but if you were anywhere in Southern Ontario, you understand what I’m talking about. SERIOUS humidity folks!

Don’t these feet look ready to run? Going into the race, I was really hoping to improve on my time from last year. That didn’t happen. I didn’t beat my time. I didn’t tie it. I wasn’t even a little slower. I finished this 10 K TEN MINUTES SLOWER than last year!!!! Crying face

I know not all races can be a personal best, and I’m ok with that, but I was REALLY disappointed with my time. I’m not trying to make excuses, but here are some possible reasons why I wasn’t so speedy:

  • It was HOT and HUMID. I don’t remember what exactly the weather was last year, but certainly not this muggy. And although I trained all summer last year for my marathon, this was definitely the hottest race weather I’ve had.
  • I didn’t really train. Yes, I run every week, but often only for a day. And there was my vacation to Vegas. Probably in the month leading up to the race, I only ran 10 K or more maybe 3 times. I guess I figured that since I had run a full and half marathon since my last 10 K race, that it wasn’t such a big deal. Guess maybe I was wrong.
  • I was feeling kind of tired and “off” earlier in the day on Tuesday. I got home from school and just felt like watching tv, not running a race. Again, not trying to make excuses, just trying to figure out what went wrong.

IMG_1694

So at the start of the race itself, I decided I wanted to pace myself and not go out too strong. However, I think maybe I went a little overboard on that strategy. I knew by 2 km in that I wasn’t going to beat my record, and soon after that I wasn’t going to even tie it. I’ll be honest, it was a tough race. It was hard not to be discouraged and feel down on myself. I feel like I want to get beyond the point of “just running the race is my victory” and actually make some time improvements, you know? I’m over that “I used to be the fat girl and I’m so proud of myself for just doing this.” I still am proud of myself, but I’d like to feel like I’m improving my pace, not just showing up and crossing the finish line.

I recently bought the book Run Less, Run Faster  and am partway through right now. It seems like if it delivers on its promises (and there are tons of testimonials) and I stick to the training schedule (only 3 runs a week) I could see some improvements….I’ll keep you posted.

IMG_1699One great thing I have to say about this race: the crowds are amazing! There is so much support: families and little kids line the race route and cheer everyone on…they even stay to watch the slow pokes like me! A huge thank you for everyone who lined the route, especially for those who had sprinklers and hoses!

Onto happier stuff: FOOD! SmileI didn’t snap a picture since I didn’t have my camera on me, but since the race sponsor is a restaurant, there was a delicious catered dinner after: mixed green and blueberry salad, watermelon, some seriously awesome mac and cheese, and grilled chicken on a bun (I went bun-less). I could have gone back for more, especially the amazing mac ‘n cheese, but I stopped myself.

Since my sister lives nearby to where the race was, she met me after and took me out for fro yo (let it be known that I had the choice to go for ice cream, but I picked TCBY). I opted for chocolate with butterscotch and SKOR. The butterscotch was a little odd – sort of weird in flavour/texture, so it wasn’t my favourite…oh well!

Now onto the second “S” in my title, my latest update on the Shape up for Summer Challenge. I have to say, I’m glad I did this, because posting something on here for all to see really does keep me accountable.

IMG_1679

  • Special occasion eating: So far, so good. This was my plate at a bridal shower last weekend: all fruit and veggies (plus a bit more fruit I munched on later). I skipped the cake, but to be honest, it wasn’t all that hard for me. I’m a bit of a cake snob, and a store-bought slab cake with overly sweet icing really doesn’t do it for me. I know that might sound kind of snotty, but being a dessert snob makes it easier to turn stuff down. If it had been a nice homemade cake or dessert, it could have been a different story. More events coming up though…so stay tuned!
  • Hula hooping for 10 minutes 4 days a week: going fairly well. Again, really glad I posted about this so I would go make myself DO IT! I missed my class on Tuesday, but I’ve been pretty good about fitting in my 10 minutes. It works best if I do it right away after I get home. I tried to wait until after supper one night, and it ended up being more like 3….as the day goes on, my motivation decreases.
  • Kicking up the intensity of my workouts: Not gonna lie, I’m not where I want to be on this one. It’s been sort of an off week for a couple of reasons: Military Tone class was cancelled on Saturday. I went to Zumba instead. It was good, just not the butt-kicking I wanted. Sunday I planned to run, but my legs felt heavy, and since it was close to my race, I didn’t want to push myself, so I walked. I didn’t think a lot of cardio was a good idea the day before my race, so I did a one hour Body Sculpt class on Monday. It was just kinda of “meh.” I know the girl who was teaching is newer, so maybe she just need to get into her groove. The one downside to working out a a lot is that the more you do, the more it takes to really “feel the burn.” And I took yesterday off after the run. Hopefully Military Tone will be on this Saturday, and also, on the upside, I’ve booked my last personal training session for next week…so hopefully she will KICK MY BUTT!
  • One-day-a-week Low Carb: I sort of had to manoeuvre this one a bit this week, but I made it work. I was going to do it Monday, but I didn’t think it would be great the day before a race. I don’t want to do in on the weekend and was thinking today would be good, except I’m going out for dinner with my mom and Sister, and no one wans to have a girls night out with “low carb girl”….LAME! Yesterday wouldn’t work because I had breakfast out. But then I was thinking, one day can be three consecutive meals, but it doesn’t all have to be on the same date – so I did yesterday lunch and dinner, and breakfast today. It’s my challenge, and my blog, so I make the rules!

Honestly, as long as I’m cooking for myself, I’m not finding the low carb thing such a hardship. IMG_1702Wednesday’s low carb supper was a delicious variation on this meal (minus the lemon in the noodles and meatballs, switching up the herbs a little bit, adding a delightful little grilled veggie salad on the side).

…and that leads us to the best part of the post (thanks for sticking with me through all of my whining about my lack of athletic ability). I promise, if you’ve made it this far, it’s worth the wait for this (cue dramatic Star Wars music):

IMG_1703

Behold the beauty that is the SOFT SERVE SUNDAE! Seriously this was SO SO SO SO SO amazingly delicious. Words don’t even describe it, but I’ll try. Last weekend, I made strawberry mango banana soft serve, and loved the flavour combo. For some reason, putting the three together was just wonderful, even better than banana-mango or strawberry-banana. So I repeated the combo last night, but added a few raspberries for good measure. I was a little impatient (frustrating night: BBQ running out of propane during dinner, getting a supply phone call while I was in the bathroom and my phone was not), so I had a few chunks in my soft serve and added a bit more milk than usual, but still amazing.

My sundae toppings were the last of my stewed rhubarb, fresh LOCAL strawberries (just SO flavourful compared to the California ones, can’t say it enough), 4 blackberries (not local) and a tablespoon of cacao nibs for crunch. Perfect flavour and texture combo. And look at the size of that baby….it’s HUGE!

I know this is going to sound like I’m one of those crazy health food bloggers (which maybe I am), but the more you eat this stuff, the more you want to, and your body craves it. I wasn’t like “oh this is really good for a healthy dessert” or “because it has so much fruit.” I just thought this was REALLY GOOD! You really need to try a soft serve sundae, either my version (or your own if you share your recipe). I don’t know why I waited so long, but I can assure you, there will be more this summer.

How are you coming with the Shape up for Summer challenge (or any healthy/fitness goals)?

3 Responses to “Slow Run, Shape up and Sundae”

  1. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel June 9, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Ohhh that bowl does look good
    I 100% agree and was discussing this with someone the other day – the more i eat “real” food the more i crave it and can’t stand fake processed things!
    Super proud of you and your 10K – way to go!!!!

  2. realfoodkatiesway June 10, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Way to go on the 10K!!! Some runs are awesome and some arent….The point is you did it!!

    That soft serve looks fantastic! I’ve always wanted to try cocoa nibs but cannot find them anywhere…

    I was at Safeway last night and saw those hungry girl tofu angel hair/spaghetti pasta noodles and immediately thought of you…I wanted to email you last night but has a chronicle going and a house to clean….

    My fitness goals/challenge is going well….Last Saturday I was good and hydrated until I went to bed…AND I ran a solid 14 KM the next morning….This Sunday my goal is 15!

    Have a fantastic weekend…I’ll try to stop by at some point!

    • hungryhealthyhilary June 10, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

      Thanks for updating me on your goals…good luck with the 15 this Sunday! And hope all your weekend craziness goes well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

