Footloose and finger-free

10 Jun

Happy Friday! I hope your weekend is off to a great start!IMG_1680 In honour of the weekend, I’m going to share with you a meal that I made last weekend. You wouldn’t believe how many food photos I have on “reserve” on my computer. I photograph almost everything that I eat, but since I don’t blog about every meal, the photos can add up quickly. But it’s nice because I always have something on hand to share with you.

IMG_1681

I don’t know about you, but my eating habits often change on the weekend (not always for the better). I like to take things slower, especially at breakfast. Sometimes I have a bigger lunch. And often on Sunday nights, I just want a sort of “munchie” supper (maybe that comes from the faspa tradition growing up). To that end, here is a delicious finger-food supper I prepared last Sunday night….perfectly fresh, light and summery – I hope there are more meals like this in the months to come!

I had an avocado in the fridge that I wanted to use, so I made a quick “guacamole for one” using 1/4 avocado (tip: I think I’ve heard that they stay fresh longer if you leave the pit in the rest of the avocado, I also put lime juice on it, then cover with saran). To the avocado, I added a bit of chopped fresh cilantro, Epicure guacamole seasoning, chopped grape tomatoes, chopped green onion, salsa, lime juice, salt and pepper. The chips that you see are Special K Sour Cream and Onion Cracker Chips (only available in US…sorry!) and they are not only delicious, but the serving size is HUGE….27 of these babies for only 110 calories! Open-mouthed smile But you could substitute any light chip/cracker (Popchips, Guiltless Gourmet….). I also had a few veggies for dipping on the side.

IMG_1682

My other veggie side was an old classic: roasted cauliflower.By now, you know the drill – salt, pepper, olive oil, cumin, roast at 450 until browned. I was in a bit of a rush, so I didn’t let it reach optimal brownness (note: you want it to look almost burnt, that’s when it has the most flavour). As I was heading out the door (to dine al fresco on the patio, naturally), I had the brilliant idea of mixing a bit of ketchup and yellow mustard together as a dipping sauce. Genius! This took slightly under-roasted cauliflower from good to extraordinary.

IMG_1683

You can’t really see it in the photo, but the protein component of this plate were two PC Blue Menu Garlic and Herb Chicken Skewers (can’t get enough of those guys). It all came together as the perfect flavour combo that did not require a fork(I do often eat roasted cauliflower with a fork, but you can also eat it as a finger food…at least I do)…ideal for a lazy summer Sunday night. And to drink (in addition to the good ol’ H20), I had PC Diet Sparkling Mango Soda…fancy, no? I wouldn’t say this is my new favourite soft drink or anything (I’d still prefer a diet Coke), but it’s pretty good stuff. Nice for summer anyway…I’m not sure I’d be craving a sparkling mango in the depths of winter. Winking smileIMG_1684

Dessert broke the “no cutlery rule,” but it was so delicious, it was worth it. This was the strawberry banana mango soft serve I told you about, the one that inspired the base of Wednesday’s soft serve sundae. I said it before, and I’ll say it again…these 3 fruits ROCK together! I’m not sure why, but there’s just something magical about the combination of the the three, in perfect soft serve harmony (see…it even makes me rhyme!). Same procedure as typical banana soft serve, I just nuked the berries for a few seconds to make them a touch easier to blend. On the side, you see a piece of my Ethel M peanut butter chocolate bar (with tea in my Ethel M mug to match, naturally). I’m not gonna lie, as good as the other Ethel M stuff I’ve had was, Ethel let me down a bit on this PB bar. It wasn’t quite as peanut-buttery as I had hoped. Not bad, just not exceptional. I still ate it, obviously (it’s chocolate, can’t let it go to waste!).

I hope you enjoy this (or any other) delicious meals this weekend. How do your eating habits change on the weekends?

As usual, I don’t have too many grand plans this weekend. Probably more outdoor hooping, hopefully Military Tone, and Sunday is my Grandma’s birthday, so baking for that. I hope we all have nice weather to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

