Verdant.

12 Jun

June 11 2011

Verdant. I just love that word. In case you don’t know, it means:

1.green with vegetation; covered with growing plants or grass: a verdant oasis.

2.of the color green: a verdant lawn.

3.inexperienced; unsophisticated: verdant college freshmen. (source)

In the context of this post I am referring to definitions 1 and 2 (I’ve actually never used it in the context of definition number 3 before). My sister and I like to use verdant in reference to outfits – ie, if one of us is wearing a lot of green, we tell the other that she is looking very verdant today, but I don’t think that is a typical usage.  Winking smile I love all things verdant in the spring – nothing like lots of green after a long winter.

The first verdancy (turns out that’s not a word, but I’m making it one) to which I am referring is my garden – it seems like it has grown SO much this week. We’ve got lettuce that could be harvested, increasingly bigger bean and pea plants, tomatoes that got caged yesterday, and tiny little peppers starting to form! I would say that my garden is a veritable verdant oasis, wouldn’t you?

IMG_1723

I also made a verdant appetizer for the spring dinner party my sister and brother-in-law had last night to celebrate the arrival of their new dining room table: spring green hummus. I had this idea (and I’ll admit, with all the food tv and blogs I take in, it’s probably not entirely mine) to make a dip out of edamame and asparagus, and that’s exactly what I did. It was delicious, easy, and a big hit at the party. I want to make more. Here’s how to make this verdalicious (okay, definitely not a word, but I can’t help myself) delight.

Spring Green Hummus

  • IMG_17211 cup frozen edamame and/or lima beans, thawed (I would have used all edamame, but they didn’t have any at the grocery store on Friday, so I improvised with the lima beans, it turned out fine, so I think one or the other, or any combination would work)
  • 1 heaping cup chopped cooked asparagus (I cooked it a bit more than I would if I was eating it, I wanted it soft for pureeing)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley (feel free to try another herb/herbs of your choice)
  • 1/4 cup PC Blue Menu Tzatziki (I think Greek yogurt or sour cream would work just fine though)
  • 1 head garlic, roasted (to roast, spray a sheet of aluminum foil with PAM, cut off the top of a head of garlic, wrap in foil, then bake at 425 for about 30-40 minutes or until tender. Let cool then peel off skin before using)
  • salt and pepper to tasteIMG_1722

Making this stuff is a cinch! Just put all the ingredients into a food processor and blend away. Season to taste with salt and pepper, chill for a bit, and you’re good to go! It’s a slightly chunky dip, I think due to the fact that the beans are not super-soft, but no one seemed to mind.

IMG_1731

 

 

 

I served the dip with fresh veggies and Popchips (several of the partygoers had never had them before, the were big fans. I’m happy to share the love). Check out my snazzy little parsley and chive flower garnish. Fancy, no?

IMG_1735

IMG_1736

 

 

 

 

 

 

The dinner party, of course, was lovely (if you know my sister, you would expect no less). The flowers in Mason jars made a simple but elegant centrepiece, and the food was simple and elegant as well. We started with my dip and another appetizer, my sister and brother-in-law looked after the meat and Catherine made her signature spring pasta dish – an asparagus/ricotta/parmesan/olive oil creation. Two other guests brought yummy salads. My plate’s above – a small piece of chicken, salads, and pasta. I had seconds of all but the meat.

IMG_1737

I did my best to use self control, and finished the meal feeling like I had not stuffed myself, and sampled a lot of delicious spring dishes. My real triumph, however, came in the dessert department. My sister made her absolutely delicious (I know because I’ve had it before) shortcake to enjoy with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. I had a few crumbs while helping serve, but when it came time for my dessert, I just had the unsweetened berries and a bit of (real) whipped cream. Hello, self control! Not that I couldn’t have the cake, I just chose not to…part of the Shape up for Summer challenge, I guess you could say. Sweet success, especially for a dessert lover like me.

IMG_1738

I left the dinner party by 9, since I had an hour’s drive ahead of me, didn’t want to be home late, and because I wanted to stop at Chapters and use my 25% off coupon! With it, I bought the Biggest Loser Dessert Cookbook (so expect to see recipes coming up). And since I skipped out on cake, I didn’t feel at all guilty about treating myself to a light caramel frappucino for the road. Smile…I also had room for a late-night soft serve treat before bed. I know night time eating is not the greatest habit, but I just love my bed time snack, what can I say? And you can’t really argue with a treat as healthy as fruity soft serve.

I hope your Saturday was simply delightful (maybe even verdant)….do you ever use that word, or is it just me?

3 Responses to “Verdant.”

  1. Catherine M.A. June 12, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    Glad you enjoyed the dinner party…and thanks for leaving us your extra bag of popchips! You are the coolest sister ever!
    xo

  2. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel June 13, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Sounds like a fun dinner party – love all the verdant 🙂
    I heart chapters and can’t wait to see some recipes from that book!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You say tomato… « hungryhealthyhilary - August 8, 2011

    […] it’s fresh, grassy, herbaceous-ness and throwing into all kinds of salads (and dips – like that asparagus hummus and of course, cowboy […]

Leave a Reply

