Burger Builder

14 Jun

I’ve said it before. I’m saying it now. I’ll say it again: I love burgers. Beef, veggie, chicken or turkey, I love ‘em all. IMG_1749But, for the most part, the burgers I eat at home are pre-made store-bought ones. And while that’s ok, I thought that since I like burgers so much, I should give making my own a try (and, Katie’s chicken burgers did inspire me, I must admit). So on Sunday, I made 2 batches of homemade burgers – one veggie, one chicken. I had the veggies for lunch (as you can see from the photo, I went bun-less on that one) and the chicken for dinner. Read on to see how to make both!

IMG_1742

Keen for Bean Southwest Veggie Burgers (makes 6)

1 cup canned black beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup refried beans

2 tbsp chopped garlic

1/4 cup chopped sweet onion

1/2 cup cooked quinoa

1 tbsp Epicure salsa seasoning

1 tsp Epicure Nacho Cheese Dip mix

1 tsp Epicure Pueblo Bean dip mix

1 tsp cumin

salt and pepper to taste

***Note: I am a hot and spicy lover, but I found these patties just a tad over the top. If I make them again, I’ll dial back the spices again, which I suggest you do too if you can’t take the heat.

Mash the black beans with a potato masher in a bowl. Add all other ingredients, mix together.

Using your hands, divide the mixture in 6 and shape into patties. If not using all immediately, store between waxed paper in an airtight container in the freezer (note: I haven’t defrosted any yet, so I’m not 100 % sure this works).

To cook the burgers, spray a non-stick pan with PAM, preheat over medium-high heat. Cook the burger until browned on one side (about 3 minutes), then flip and brown the other. * I would NOT advise you to grill these – I think they’d stick really bad and/or fall apart. Homemade veggie burgers are best for the frying pan I think.

IMG_1743

IMG_1745

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1747

This is what the burger looks like after being flipped. As you can see, I ate my first burger bun-less with a side salad (wanted to cut calories since I knew I’d be having birthday cake later that afternoon), but I think these would be great on a bun with a slice of cheese melted over and some salsa. Like I said above, there was a touch too much spice, but overall, I really liked the flavour of these burgers. A nice change from your usual veggie burger.

IMG_1753

Moving right along to the chicken burgers. I think chicken burgers are a great opportunity to play with herbs/spices and flavourings. That being said, since I was making a whole “batch,” I wanted to go with something fairly neutral, not too strongly flavoured, that would be more versatile, so my seasonings this round were pretty basic. I’ve got all summer to experiment though! Winking smile

Basic Chicken Burgers (makes 5)

1 450 g package lean ground chicken

1/2 cup broccoli slaw, finely chopped

1/4 cup finely chopped sweet onion

1/4 cup liquid egg whites

1 tbsp Epicure French onion dip mix

1 tsp Epicure Herb and garlic dip mix

1 tsp salt, plus a few shakes pepper.

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Use your hands (the best tool, really) to mix it up. Divide mixture in 5, then shape into patties. As with the veggie burgers, store any you’re not using layered with waxed paper in an airtight container in the fridge (haven’t defrosted any of these yet either, so no results report here either).

IMG_1754

I cooked my burger on the grill over high heat and put a cheese slice on right at the end to enjoy it cheeseburger-style, and topped it off with onion, pickle, lettuce, tomato, ketchup and vinegar – oh yeah! My sides were roasted cauliflower (nice and crispy this time) and veggies with some spring green hummus.

IMG_1755

IMG_1756

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1757IMG_1758

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, chicken burger review. My favourite part of these burgers? The ingredient list – only 4 things, plus spices. And I like the little veggie boost from the broccoli slaw and onion. I didn’t think the flavour was anything special or outrageous. They were good, but nothing way above and beyond your average chicken burger. I’m definitely going to be more adventurous with the next batch. Can’t wait to see what I come up with?

Are you a burger lover like me? What kind is your favourite? Any good recipes/tips/tricks to share?

4 Responses to “Burger Builder”

  1. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel June 14, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    I’ve tried making burgers but they always taste blah! Lately i’ve kind of been off them but i love tuna and salmon burgers from Zehrs, super yummmms 🙂

    • hungryhealthyhilary June 14, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

      Good for you for doing the fish thing…I know it’s healthy, but just can’t make myself do it…not a fish girl!

  2. realfoodkatiesway June 14, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    DROOL DROOL DROOL!!! Bean burgers AND chicken burgers? A girl after my own heart!

    I am officially having a turkey burger for supper now…Mmm Mmm Mmm!

    I am a fan of all things burgers in the summer! Good on ya for using a lighter meat option!

    • hungryhealthyhilary June 14, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

      Thank you…glad I inspired another tasty burger super through the blog world!

Leave a Reply

