Sweet Success

15 Jun

IMG_1762

I did it: I made my first recipe from The Biggest Loser Dessert Cookbook (with some assistance from my dear friend Megan, who was over for dinner, and can always be counted on for all things dessert). What was the first dessert I tried? Chocolate peanut butter balls! Sounds promising, right?

If you look at the picture below or read the recipe, you’ll see that there are only 4 ingredients! So that’s a huge plus if you want a sweet treat in a hurry. From IMG_1761start to finish,this recipe took probably less than 10 minutes, and since there’s no baking, you can enjoy them right away. These balls are not insanely decadent (you won’t mistake one for a Reese’s peanut butter cup) , but I’d say this is a good go-to recipe if you want something to satisfy your sweet tooth in a hurry but is still somewhat healthy/natural and won’t make a HUGE batch (it only makes 8). Megan thought they could have used more peanut butter. Hmm….I wonder if the Ethel M pecan brittle we ate afterward would be Biggest Loser-approved? Winking smile 

Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls (makes 8 with 56 calories each)

From The Biggest Loser Dessert Cookbook

1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons old-fashioned oats

2 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tablespoon unsweetened all-natural creamy peanut butter (or you can be rebellious like us and just use good ol’ Kraft, I promise I won’t tell!)

Mix all ingredients together in a small bowl (the recipe says to use an electric mixer, but I found this completely unnecessary…I’ve got the pipes! Plus it seems silly to drag out a mixer for such a small amount).

Lay a large piece of waxed paper on a flat surface. Using your hands, divide the mixture into 8 equal portions (the mixture will be sticky) and roll each one into a ball (I actually didn’t find the mixture as sticky as I thought).

Serve immediately or store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

I will keep you posted as I try more recipes. Many of them have more unusual ingredients (like agave nectar and coconut sugar), so I will have to go on a special shopping trip before trying some of them.

BUT, I do have another dessert treat to share – this one’s my own creation! IMG_1773As per the Shape up for Summer challenge, yesterday was my designated “low carb day,” so that meant another DELICIOUS soft serve sundae – banana peanut butter chocolate with strawberries – oh yeah! And it was just as good as it sounds!

IMG_1771My base was the basic banana soft serve. I made a sauce by mixing 2 tablespoons of PB2 with a bit of Brown Sugar Twin, a touch of unsweetened cocoa powder and enough water to make a pourable consistency. I swirled some of the sauce into the soft serve, topped with sliced fresh strawberries, the rest of the sauce, and a sprinkling of cacao nibs for crunch.

IMG_1774

 

…as you can see, it was terrible and I had a lot of trouble choking it down! Winking smile

I love soft serve sundaes! I am so glad I’ve got a whole summer ahead of me to try more flavour combinations, and also experiment with my new cookbook. Do you have any new cookbooks/recipes you’re wanting to try? (Or good ones you’d recommend to me, not that I need more)?

Leave a Reply

