Guess what this ISN’T

17 Jun

IMG_1763

IMG_1764

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Friday, dear blog friends! Let’s take a look at the photos above, shall we? You’re probably looking at them, and thinking, “oh, Hilary’s making some chocolate chip cookies, this sounds yummy” (unless you considered the title of today’s post). Well, if that’s what you’re thinking, then you are WRONG!

Do these pictures help you out a little bit more?

IMG_1779

IMG_1780

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ok, I can’t hold it in. You are looking at several stages of making COOKIE. DOUGH. TRUFFLES. You heard me right. Yes, they are every bit as delicious as they sound (possibly even more). And yes, these guys are DANGEROUS! Make sure you have somewhere to take them and share them, because if you’re anything like me you can NOT be trusted around these little bombs of deliciousness.

I first saw this recipe on the show Paula’s Best Dishes on the Food Network quite some time ago and could NOT get it out of my head! I googled it, bookmarked it, and first made these beauties last summer for the guests at my birthday party (I hosted my own birthday party, made all the food, and take-home treats for the guests….does this surprise anyone?). I made them again this week for our Worship Team Practice at churchIMG_1782…it was our last practice before we break for summer, so I figured we should go out on a sweet note (pun INTENDED)!

Since Paula and the Food Network people have it written up so nicely, I’m just going to send you over there if you want to make the recipe. If you or a family member are allergic to nuts, please accept my deepest sympathies, as these contain pecans. *Please note, although the name of the blog is Hungry Healthy Hilary, I do like to indulge now and then. These truffles are one of those times…but anything can fit into a balanced diet…one of these is 80/20 eating at its finest! The good thing about these truffles is they are pretty small, relatively speaking. So eating one isn’t going to derail your day.

IMG_1795

These guys are good enough on their own, but I wasn’t about to stop there. I remembered reading on Oh She Glows about Angela making a “cookie dough blizzard” of sorts with banana soft serve. I decided that one of these babies would be a delicious option. And, since I had just one chocolate peanut butter ball left, I figured, why not chop up that little guy too?IMG_1797

Making this tremendous treat is so simple too. All you do is make basic banana soft serve (1 chopped frozen banana, touch of almond milk, process until smooth in a food processor) and add a little unsweetened cocoa powder. Then put it into a glass or small bowl and stir in your cookie dough truffle and chocolate pb ball pieces (note, just like blizzards, you could go any way with this…use a bit of your favourite chocolate bar, crumbled cookies…possibilities are endless).

IMG_1799

This was the perfect dessert for “I wanna be a little naughty and decadent, but not totally over the top.” You’ve got the healthy goodness of banana soft serve with the totally decadent cookie dough truffle…the angel on one should and the devil on the other are both satisfied, right?

So…speaking of being naughty… last night was Thursday Night, aka Hilary’s “treat”/temptation night. I was hoping that my little blizzard treat would do the trick, but alas, I fell into my old traps.

IMG_1800

I was baking, making these delicious lime cookies for a function for my Aunt. There was dough to eat, broken cookies that I couldn’t use (but couldn’t let go to waste). Then there were all the bits and bites here and there….frozen yogurt out of the container, jelly beans, other things that I can’t even remember! All that to say is, even as a “health food blogger,” I still have my struggles…I am a work in progress! But the healthier you are in the day-to-day, the less one night of not-so-stellar choices has to derail you, right? (Or so I tell myself).

On a happier note, Shape up for Summer is going well for me. In the past week, I’ve noticed that two of my pairs of “tight pants” aren’t quite as tight as I remembered….this is HUGE for me! I’ve been keeping up with hooping for 10 minutes a few times a week. And I met with my personal trainer this week who totally beat me up (arms. were. so. sore). Military Tone was cancelled again last Saturday (fingers crossed for this week), but I made up for it by pushing myself through some treadmill intervals and a few weights. And HUGE score? I got a Wagjag deal for $19 for a one month membership to The Athletic Club!!!!! Sweet! Yes, I still pay for and will go to my regular gym, but I am excited to take advantage of the pool and different classes there, to switch things up a little (plus, Donna is a member, so we can go together). I’ve been doing pretty well on the special occasion eating, but I’ve got two food-filled weekends coming up, so wish me luck and stay tuned!

Enjoy the weekend everyone!

3 Responses to “Guess what this ISN’T”

  1. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel June 17, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    Is there a recipe for the lime cookies??? mmmmmmm
    So excited to have some fun at the Athletic Club with you, i’ve mentioned the yoga where we hang upside down right? And that UFC class makes driving home dangerous as your legs shake so much? teheheheee, its going to be fun 🙂

  2. realfoodkatiesway June 17, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    oh my gosh oh my gosh oh my gosh!!! Those truffles look AMAZING!!! I would be very bad with those in my house that I can tell you for sure…

    Have I mentioned that I am unbelievable jealous of how close you and Donna are to each other?? If not, I am totally jealous of how close you two are! 😉

    • hungryhealthyhilary June 18, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

      Well…I think there’s only one solution….you need to move to Ontario! My mom and Donna are both financial advisors, so I’m sure one of them could find a job for you! 😉

Leave a Reply

