Ring around the Burger

24 Jun

IMG_1885

Life is funny sometimes. On Wednesday, I knew I was going to be on my own for supper. So that morning, I was thinking about what I’d make for myself (yes, I am completely and totally consumed by food…I am always making it, eating it, or thinking about it…deal with it). I thought about the PC Blue Menu Chicken Sliders I had in my freezer, and thought they’d be good with some Hungry Girl onion rings, and it had been ages since I made them. Then, when reading my emails before leaving for work, my daily Hungry Girl email told me it was National Onion Ring Day – it was meant to be!

This recipe is an HG oldie, but definitely a goodie! For some reason, this time the ground-up cereal didn’t stick to my rings to well (I think maybe it wasn’t finely ground enough), but I made it work, cranked up the oven temperature a bit at the end of cook time, and dipped ‘em in my delicious BBQ ranch dip (sour cream, ranch dip mix, light BBQ sauce, brown sugar twin, cumin and liquid smoke) and they tasted great! As you can see from the ingredients picture and then reading the recipe below, I switched up my spices, using cumin, chili powder and garlic salt. Feel free to try any blend you like! Here’s the recipe:

Lord of the Onion Rings 2.0
PER SERVING (entire recipe): 155 calories, 1g fat, 515mg sodium, 41g carbs, 16g fiber, 7g sugars, 9g protein

Ingredients:IMG_1879
1 large onion
1/2 cup Fiber One bran cereal (original)
1/2 cup fat-free liquid egg substitute (like Egg Beaters Original)
1/4 tsp. garlic powder, or more to taste
1/8 tsp. onion powder, or more to taste
1/8 tsp. salt, or more to taste
Black pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Slice the ends off the onion and remove its outer layer. Cut onion into 1/2-inch-wide slices, and separate into rings. Set aside.

Using a blender or food processor, grind Fiber One to a breadcrumb-like consistency. Season the crumbs with spices and transfer to a plate.
Fill a small bowl with egg substitute. Prepare a baking sheet (or two, if you have a lot of rings) by spraying with nonstick spray. Set aside.

Pop-Up Tip! For this next step, try using tongs or a fork to dip the rings into the egg substitute and cereal crumbs — it’ll keep your fingers from getting eggy & crumb-covered. (Don’t pierce the rings with the fork; just balance them on it.)
One at a time, dunk each ring in egg substitute, give it a shake to remove any excess, and then coat it in the seasoned crumbs. Evenly place rings on the baking sheet(s).

Bake in the oven for 20 – 25 minutes, carefully flipping rings over about halfway through. Enjoy!
MAKES 1 SERVING

IMG_1880

 

I used a nice, sweet Vidalia onion. Here are the rings, all sliced and separated.

 

 

IMG_1881

 

 

The egg substitute-coated ring goes for a dip in the cereal “crumbs” (best photo I could get while my hands were all goopy). If you’re familiar with HG, you’ve seen the fibre one/egg substitute “faux-fry” tip before. It works great for anything you want a crispy coating on…veggies….chicken…the list goes on! Check out the HG site for more cool ideas!

IMG_1882

Now onto the sliders. First of all, anyone notice how HUGE sliders are lately (which is a bit of an oxy-moron, since sliders are actually mini burgers, but I think you got the drift)? Sliders, mini sausages and buns are all over the new PC Insider’s report (and I sampled the mini sausages and ciabatta buns at last weekend’s visit to the PC Summer Tour…yum!). The sliders are great, but the calorie counts on the buns are a tad higher than I’d like for a mini bun…so I problem solved and found these great whole wheat mini pitas with only 20 calories AND one gram of fibre each and halved them for my buns…perfect!

IMG_1883

I opted to go for a Mediterranean vibe for my chicken sliders – on the halved pitas, I put the chicken sliders, some of my fav PC Blue Menu Tzatziki, sliced Vidalia onion (leftover from the rings), a slice of grilled mini eggplant, a piece or jarred roasted red pepper, and fresh dill….um…YUM! So, summer-y, fresh and delicious!

IMG_1884

So many layers of delicious flavour – I think we need a close-up! And don’t the frilly toothpicks complete things nicely? FYI, sliders are great party food. Last year for my birthday, I did a build-your-own slider party – big hit!

 

 

IMG_1887

My other side dish was a salad of grilled asparagus and grilled portabella mushroom (sliced) with fresh basil and a quick balsamic vinaigrette, plus a few cucumber spears for extra dipping in that ranch dip.IMG_1886

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dessert was also quite delicious and summer-y: pineapple mango soft serve! IMG_1888This stuff rules. The combo of fresh and frozen fruit blends up beautifully, no added liquid necessary. And somehow, the lack of banana really lets the tropical flavours shine through. I also snacked on some of these new Rold Gold 1oo calorie caramel-glazed pretzels that I am loving these days….I Red heartsweet and salty! (can’t find them online, otherwise I’d post the link).

Speaking of burgers, quick update on the bean and the chicken ones I made a while back. I said that I wasn’t sure how they’d thaw from the freezer. I’m happy to report that both thawed beautifully!

IMG_1861

IMG_1784

 

 

 

 

 

 

The waxed paper layers made both easy to remove from their containers. I let the chicken burgers (pictured above right)thaw on the counter (I know that’s a food safety no-no, but it hasn’t killed me yet) and I microwaved my veggie burger for a minute on high. And, when topped with a slice of melted Velveeta cheese, a touch of salsa, a slice of sweet onion and a slice juicy tomato on a lightly toasted English muffin, the bean burger was simply OUT-OF-THIS-WORLD! I WILL be eating it this way again!

Happy first official weekend of summer!Sun Any plans? I’m making some food for my cousin’s grade 8 grad party and on Sunday I’ve got a church picnic – lots of food and fun all around!

If you don’t know what you’re cookin’ yet, why not give one of these burger recipes a try? And/or some soft-serve. Both are light yet amazingly satisfying ways to ring in summer!

Leave a Reply

