Porky Pizza Pleasure

25 Jun

IMG_1899

Boston Pizza used to have a Jack Daniel’s BBQ pork pizza that was majorly delicious, and for some reason, one of the lowest-calorie options on the pizza menu (for the life of me, I can’t figure out why). But it got last in the midst of one of their menu reinventions. Sad smile Of course, I won’t let BP get me down. Inspired by the last few pieces of pork tenderloin from Father’s Day last night (yep, I used 5 day old leftover meat…don’t judge), I created my own version.

IMG_1894

My sauce was a mix of everything you see in the photo (although I think I might have forgotten to add the liquid smoke): crushed tomatoes, light BBQ sauce, light ketchup, cumin and sugar twin (in a pinch, you could just dump in some BBQ sauce, but I’m pretty sure this ends up being lower in calories). I mixed the sauce together, then added the pork tenderloin, which I had finely chopped.

IMG_1898

To create sort of a quick pulled pork-like texture, I microwaved the sauce/meat mixture on high for 2 minutes. Crust was the usual – by now you know the drill (toasted light wrap). I spread the sauce/meat over it, topped with 1/3 cup light Tex-Mex cheese, then chopped mushroom, red pepper and Vidalia onion (can’t get enough of those guys). I baked it for a few minutes ‘till everything was melted and hot. Mmmm….sweet and smoky! BP, who needs you anyway?

IMG_1903

Side dishes: two. Number one was this soup, which was super-easy to make, but not a flavour all-star. Good, but not great. All I did was microwave some chopped garlic scapes, broccoli and asparagus in salted water until very tender, almost mushy (7 minutes on high). I used my immersion blender to puree the veggies and most of the cooking liquid (in retrospect, I would have drained a tad more, as the soup was a little thinner than I would have liked…but it all depends on your preference) with 2 wedges of Laughing Cow light cheese, fresh dill, and salt and pepper…that’s it, that’s all.

IMG_1896

IMG_1897

 

 

 

 

 

 

Side dish number two was in fact, quite simple AND delicious: roasted garlic IMG_1902scapes! All I did was toss some chopped garlic scapes with olive oil, fresh ground salt and pepper. I roasted at 425 (I think!) for 20 to 30 minutes. What I liked about this was the mix in textures – some of the scapes got kinda crispy, while others still had a nice chew. I ate them with my fingers – sort of like some green twisty, garlic-y oven fry. I thought for a second about roasting them with garlic, but then stopped myself. That is like putting garlic on garlic, which might be a bit much, even for me! Smile

IMG_1901

Do you have any favourite restaurant dishes that have been discontinued? Have you ever tried to recreate them at home?

2 Responses to “Porky Pizza Pleasure”

  1. realfoodkatiesway June 26, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Hooray for week old leftover meat! No judgement here!

    No discontinued meals that I can think of but the Bravocado sammich was high up on my “must recreate” list

Leave a Reply

