Sweet and Salty Salads

28 Jun

IMG_1878

It’s no secret that I love all things sweet and salty. Pretzels and peanut butter, salted caramel…I could go on (and on and on)….but sweet and salty salad? Seems a bit more unlikely, but trust me, it’s good! In the last week, I’ve tried 2 sweet ‘n salty salad combos, and both have worked out delightfully.

IMG_1875

My first attempt was for a lunch last week. It seems like in the food world (blogs, magazines), I’ve been seeing the watermelon feta combo EVERYWHERE for the last few summers. It’s always intrigued me, but I’ve never tried it, and since I had watermelon in the fridge leftover from Father’s Day, I decided the time was right to give it a go. My base was spinach leaves, which I topped with watermelon and feta, fresh mint, tomato (I feel like I’ve seen those 2 in many of the recipes I’ve come across), Vidalia onion (because I love ‘em, and WHY NOT?) and steamed asparagus (because it’s in season, and I put it in practically everything I can this time of year).

I made a fruity vinaigrette with one of my schmancy wine vinegars from Niagara to top it all off. The verdict? Yum! Perfectly cool and refreshing…could be a new summer classic! I love the salty feta paired with the sweet watermelon, and the mint added a nice freshness. I will definitely do this one again (although, since asparagus season is drawing to a close, it sadly may not make an appearance).

IMG_1925

SSS (sweet salty salad) # 2 was created for last night’s (low carb day of the week….last one for June) supper. I was home later after signing up for my one month cheapie membership at the Athletic Club and trying my first class which reduced me to a quivering pool, and wanted something quick and cool (and of course, low in carbs) and that used up stuff in the fridge.

This salad’s greens were lettuce, chives and parsley FROM MY GARDEN (sorry, didn’t mean to shout at ya there, just lovin’ the local). I topped them off with “normal” salad veggies for me (cucumber, mushrooms, red pepper, Vidalia onion), then some grapes that had been in the fridge since, as Katie would say, “Jesus walked on water,” sliced fresh strawberries (I would have gone all berry, but my desire to use stuff up won), diced ham (had some in the fridge, also leftover from Father’s Day, that needed to be used) and a tablespoon of sunflower seeds for crunch. I mashed a couple of strawberries into my dressing, created with another one of my fancy wine vinegars (maple this time).

Results? Also delicious. Sweet and salty wins every time. Now, it’s no peanut butter and pretzels, I’ll admit, but still incredibly fresh and delicious.

Two side notes:

1. I am STOKED about my one month membership at the Athletic Club. And although my Shape up for Summer challenge officially ends as of Thursday (full summary/recap to come), I think this is just what I needed to push myself more in my workouts, if my soreness from my first class (TRX, a totally cool weight class which uses this crazy harness thing, your body weight and resistance) is any indication. Just glad they also have a pool so I can use that to recover!

2. I am also STOKED about the huge bump in my site stats the last 2 days. I don’t know if I’m done anything in particular to draw in new readers, but my numbers went WAAAAY up Sunday and yesterday. So a big thank you to everyone who stops by to hear my ramblings and follow my journey. I truly appreciate you all and I hope you enjoy reading this little blog as much as I enjoy writing it.

Question: What’s the most unusual salad combination you’ve ever created?

Happy Tuesday everyone!

6 Responses to “Sweet and Salty Salads”

  1. ihearteggs June 28, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    this salad sounds so good! Love watermelon! YUM!

    the most unusual salad I eat is probably my “cheeseburger salad”… basically all the ingredents for a cheeseburger dumped over romaine!

  2. Donna @ Love, Run & Travel June 28, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Okay you are sooo right i see watermelon feta EVERYWHERE, yours looks amazing so now i just have to try it!
    I wish i could have made it to TRX with you – we will have fun at UFC though 🙂 I work till 4:30 but i’ll make sure i’m out in time so we can set up next to each other, just an FYI i laugh a lot in classes and i make a lot of “OMG this is gonna hurt later” faces 🙂
    Oh and i might be able to do the trail on Sunday (not sure if that works for you) – i’ll have to let you know though, Dave and my schedule works out that we only get every other weekend off work with each other so we try to do fun stuff together when we can but i’m pretty sure he has baseball so i’ll let you know 😀

    • hungryhealthyhilary June 29, 2011 at 12:58 am #

      Yay…excited for our UFC “date” tomorrow…and Sunday is fine for me as long as it’s after lunch….so keep me posted, but no worries if it doesn’t work out!

  3. Er June 29, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Yum! A place near me makes an awesome watermelon/feta salad in the summer and I could eat it every single night!

    • hungryhealthyhilary June 29, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

      Cool! I feel like I’m a bit late to get on the feta/watermelon bandwagon, but better late than never!

Leave a Reply

