Show and Tell

6 Jul

First of all, although she would probably kill me for doing this, I have to give a  IMG_1967shout-out to my mom, who is celebrating her birthday today – happy birthday mom! Now that I’ve got that out of the way, on with the post. I promised on Monday that I would share some of my “American novelty food purchases” with you – so here I go. Warning, this post may have one of two effects on you, depending on your nationality. If you are American, you might laugh and/or get bored with my amusement at products not yet available north of the border. If you are Canadian, you may become annoyed and/or jealous of my fabulous food finds. Either way, don’t say I didn’t warn you!

IMG_1962

Item Number One: Thomas Breakfast Thins These guys are available in blueberry and cinnamon raisin (I bought both of course). I’ve only tried the blueberry so far, but it was delicious. A welcome change from the typical thin bun at breakfast. I did my usual – toasted (minus the cinnamon Splenda sprinkle ‘cause I figured it was already sweet), topped with 1/4 cup ricotta (mixed with Splenda and vanilla) and fresh berries. Cafe mocha to drink on the side. Speaking of new stuff, don’t my cup and bowl from Anthropologie look lovely? And how about that cute tea towel underneath (don’t worry, you’ll be seeing lots more of it iIMG_1966f you can’t get a good look).

Item Number Two: Fiber One 90 Calorie Brownies (also pictured at the top of this post, with the Anthropologie mug again). Just like the thins, these came in two flavours (chocolate peanut butter and chocolate), and of course, I bought both. Umm…a brownie with 90 calories and 5 g fibre? SIGN. ME. UP. I hope the the folks at Canadian fibre one will catch on quickly, just like when they did a copycat 100 calorie version of the American 90 calorie bar. And by the way, these things are GOOD! I only wish I bought more.

IMG_1976

Item Number Three: Bush’s Grillin’ Beans: Black Bean Fiesta I bought these on a whim at Target, ‘cause they were on sale. And since they’re not in a super-sweet sauce and don’t have any meat in with ‘em, they’re pretty reasonable in stats.

IMG_1977

 

 

 

 

I had the beans as a side dish with Saturday’s BBQ supper: grilled chicken (a chipotle-flavoured one from Sobey’s), asparagus, Vidalia onions, and a salad made with Israeli couscous and fresh herbs and veggies. Everything was delicious, and the beans made a perfect side dish – good flavour, but not too spicy (not that that would bother me though).

IMG_1980

Items numbers four, five and six: Fiber One 80 calories Honey Squares, Barbara’s Bakery Peanut Butter Puffins and Stonyfield Oikos Caramel Greek Yogurt Be jealous, be very jealous here, my fellow Canadians. When you combine one and a half cups fresh berries, a container of this divine yogurt, and 1/4 cup each of the above mentioned cereals, you get a dessert that is more like breakfast! And doesn’t it look just smashing in the bowl placed on the cute tea towel, both from Target? IMG_1986My only regret about this bowl is that there wasn’t more of the yogurt….it was just that good. I decided to enjoy my second one on it’s own with lunch the next day, so I could enjoy the delicious flavour to the max. And peanut butter cereal? Yumfest. I remembered reading about them on Carrots ‘n Cake, so I decided to go for them when I saw them at Target – a decision I’m NOT regretting. I think these guys would be great to snack on – on their own, or mixed with popcorn or other cereal. Better still, according to the website, all of Barbara’s stuff is: “free of artificial preservatives and ingredients, hydrogenated oils, and refined white sugar.” The 80 calorie stuff was good, bot amazing, but pretty decent for the low caloric and high fibre price tag.

IMG_1987

Item Number 7: DaVinci Sugar Free Caramel Syrup Good news Canadians – you can get this stuff (or another brand) in Canada, it’s just not readily available in stores I frequent on a regular basis. I used it to make an absolutely delightful iced coffee by combining with instant coffee + water + 1 cup unsweetened original Almond milk + ice in my stylish new Target glass (I bought two, so if anyone wants me to make you such a drink, c’mon over)!

All in all, tasty finds for delicious summer eats. I’ll probably share more as I use more stuff. But my conclusion? All of this stuff, but especially Stonyfield Oikos caramel Greek yogurt and 90 calorie fibre one brownies NEED to come to Canada….sooner rather than later!

3 Responses to “Show and Tell”

  1. Er July 7, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    PB Puffins are one of my favorite snacks…they actually just came out with one that is PB and Chocolate puffins and it is soooo good!

    • hungryhealthyhilary July 7, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      I visited their website (because I’m cool like that) and saw those on there…they look SO good…and I am loving snacking on the puffins…quickly wishing I’d bought more!

  2. realfoodkatiesway July 7, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    I love going to the States to get food we don’t get here!!!

Leave a Reply

