I made this!

13 Jul

IMG_2141

Eat your heart out Edible Arrangements. Because yours truly created a gorgeous (if I do say so myself) creation in the comfort of my own home. Yesterday, we took supper to some dear friends after the death of a family member. I’m sorry the occasion wasn’t happier, but on a brighter note, the fruit was enjoyed by all. This would be a great party trick for summer…and really, it’s not that hard. I’ll break it down for you step-by-step.

IMG_2135

 

I “anchored” my fruit skewers (which were just regular old bamboo skewers) in a large hunk of watermelon. I cut off the bottom so it would sit flat, and had to cut off the rind on the sides so it would fit in the bowl.

 

IMG_2136

 

Here’s the watermelon chunk in the bowl before I began. I stuck all the fruit skewers into it, then added the cherries on top.

 

 

IMG_2131

I used my Pampered Chef melon baller to make balls of honeydew for the flower “stems”. As you can see if you look closely at the bouquet, my “balling” skills can use some work…some balls turned out better than others.

 

 

IMG_2138

Here’s my set-up before I began: honeydew balls, washed grapes and cherries, watermelon ready to go in the bowl with more waiting to be sliced, peeled pineapple (although I feel like peeled is not the right word, as you can’t really peel a pineapple, but you know what I mean – outside off), flower cookie cutters ready to go.IMG_2140

This was a really fun project. I used various sizes of cookie cutters to make different-sized flowers, threading a few melon balls and/or grapes on a skewer for “stems,” then adding a flower topper. There were a couple all grape skewers, as well as some with just grapes and melon chunks. Once I had stuck all the fruit in my watermelon anchor, I topped it off with fresh, local cherries. It was a hit with kids and adults alike – who says healthy food is boring?!

I have a lot of odd-shaped fruit chunks in my fridge, so I see maybe a variation on Katie’s fruit salsa and perhaps some delicious fruity drinks in my future….any other suggestions? Perhaps another feta/watermelon salad?…maybe I’ll add honeydew, just to live on the edge. Winking smile

You know what else I made? These:

IMG_2139

Lemon-Thyme Biscuits. They are from the same Food Network Magazine article as the beans and coleslaw (that means they’re light!) and they are absolutely fantastic! The delicious buttermilk flavour you’d expect, with the added elements of lemon and thyme – I’ll definitely make these again! Here’s the recipe:

Lemon Thyme Biscuits

From Food Network Magazine

Makes 18 (I used a smaller cookie cutter and got 32)IMG_2132

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 tablespoons wheat germ
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt, plus more for sprinkling (I used regular old iodized salt in the biscuits, then sprinkled with my fancy-pants sea salt from Winners)
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme, plus more for sprinkling
  • 4 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces (I used salted, ‘cause I’m a rebel like that)
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, wheat germ, salt, lemon zest and thyme in a medium bowl. Using a pastry blender or your fingers, work the butter into the flour mixture until it is in pea-size pieces. Gently stir in the buttermilk with a wooden spoon until just moistened. The dough will be loose.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead 3 to 5 times, just until it comes together. (Don’t overknead or the biscuits will be tough.) Roll out to 1/2 inch thick, then cut out biscuits using a floured 2-inch-round cutter. Arrange on an ungreased baking sheet. Reroll the scraps and cut out more biscuits. Brush the tops with water and sprinkle lightly with salt and thyme.

Bake the biscuits until golden brown, 12 to 15 minutes. Serve warm.

IMG_2133

 

Cuttin’ in the butter. Even with only 4 tablespoons (which equals 1/4 cup, FYI), they still had great, flaky biscuit texture…I promise!

 

 

 

IMG_2134

Cutting out the biscuits.

You’ll notice that unlike many healthy baking recipes, there is no whole wheat flour, but there is a little wheat germ. I smiled when I bought it, as it reminded me of my childhood…growing up, I would say my family ate pretty healthfully in general. My parents were by no means granola-munching hippies, but we didn’t eat a lot of processed stuff or food from cans. But in what I think was an effort to be more “healthful,” my mom would sprinkle wheat germ on our food from time-to-time….and I can remember HATING IT (sorry mom, but thanks for trying). Needless to say, I didn’t mind it at all in this recipe (just thought I’d share that little nostalgic moment with you all, it’s what wheat germ does to a girl).

2 questions:

1. What’s the most creative thing you’ve ever made in the kitchen?

2. What did your mom do to try and get your to eat healthier growing up?

11 Responses to “I made this!”

  1. Er July 13, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    That looks a lot like Edible Arrangements & I am sure it was much much cheaper. Cute!

    • hungryhealthyhilary July 13, 2011 at 11:47 am #

      Thank you! I’ve been dropping MEGA-hints to my family to get me an Edible arrangement, to no avail, so I had to take matters into my own hands.

  2. courtney (pancakes and postcards) July 13, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    SO ADORABLE! Nice work with the fruit.

  3. realfoodkatiesway July 13, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    HILARY!!!!! You amaze me every single day…And I mean that with every fiber of my being! Speechless. Absolutely speechless!

    I make a mean fruit dip that would go beautifully with that…

    And PS I think it is the perfect gift to give someone when they are grieving…Absolutely perfect honey!

    My mom and I loved to eat salads and fruit when I was growing up…We weren’t healthy at all but when my mom would get “thinky” about her weight I remember a lot of salad and fruit…Granted the salad had hunks of meat and cheese in it, but it was salad…right??? 😉

    I honestly cannot think of just one creative thing I’ve made in the kitchen…And I don’t mean that in a conceited way at all…I just try to be creative in the kitchen every day…It’s tough to pick just one!

    • hungryhealthyhilary July 13, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      You flatter me with your comments…I feel so truly undeserving! But thank you. And you don`t sound conceited at all…you`re right! You are creative each and every day!

  4. Catherine M.A. July 14, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    YOU ARE THE MOST AMAZING PERSON IN THE WORLD. that is all i have to say.

    love,
    your favourite sister

  5. thebeautynotebooks July 14, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Your fruit creation looks so cool! Maybe you could give Edible Arrangements some competition 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Naughty and Nice « hungryhealthyhilary - July 15, 2011

    […] cheesecake pops! Now, to be fair, I didn’t make these for me. They were for the same meal as the fruit bouquet and the lemon thyme biscuits. So while I did eat one (and may have a couple more, as the recipe made A LOT), I am not the sole […]

Leave a Reply

