Oats, peas, beans and barley grow

19 Jul

Oats, peas, beans, and barley grow,IMG_2208
Oats, peas, beans, and barley grow,
Can you or I or anyone know
How oats, peas, beans, and barley grow?

…anyone else know this song? I feel like it may have been a Sharon, Lois and Bram classic. Anyways, that’s what was going through my head as I picked snow peas and beans from my garden today. I just need some oats and barley to complete my song! Or maybe I could rewrite the lyrics: “herbs, peas, beans and zucchini grow”? Any takers?

IMG_2210

So you know me, almost as soon as I got those guys outta the ground, I had to get them into my stomach! Exhibit A: my delicious watermelon, ham and veggie salad for lunch yesterday (there are peas and beans under all that pink-ness, I promise!). My greens were spinach and garden-fresh arugula, the vegetation was red pepper, cucumber, yellow and green beans and snow peas from the garden, cucumber, red onion and tomato. I used up the last of the watermelon leftover from the fruit bouquet and 4 slices of lean deli ham (preservative-free, thank-you-very-much). For herbage, I added some fresh cilantro.

I topped this all off with salt and pepper and a delicious vinaigrette made from schmancy maple wine vinegar, fat-free Italian dressing, oil and Dijon mustard. Once again, another salad winner, folks! Peppery arugula, sweet and juicy melon (just that combo alone was FANTASTIC), crunchy veggies, and herb-y freshness from the cilantro: summer perfection! Another added benefit? The lovely pink hue. Nothing like a salad in your favourite colour to get your week off to a good start!

IMG_2212

Exhibit B: The delicious bean side dish I made for supper last night. It was a riff on a Martha Stewart recipe I made last summer for my mom’s birthday called Neapolitan Green Beans. The original recipe calls for simmering the beans with fresh tomato, slice garlic, chili flakes, and basil. I have done my own variations on this dish several times, and they all turn out great. Here is a loose recipe guideline to help you re-create and/or re-invent this dish.

Neapolitan Green Beans

Adapted from Martha Stewart

  • Green and/or yellow beans to serve as many as you’d like
  • Tomato/some sort of tomato product (you can use any kind of fresh tomato – plum, cherry, regular, or canned tomatoes, or tomato sauce, or any combination of the above) This time, I used a bit of frozen spicy tomato sauce and part of a fresh tomato.
  • A pinch of chili flakes (omit if you don’t like things spicy or if you’re using spicy tomato sauce, as I did this time)
  • Fresh garlic, sliced (use as much or as little as you’d like)
  • A few sprigs fresh basil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Trim the beans and cut in half. Place the beans, chili flakes, garlic, tomatoes and salt and pepper in a pot. Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer on medium-low for about 10 minutes. Add basil sprigs (leave whole), increase heat to medium and simmer, uncovered for 5 to 7 minutes until liquid is slightly reduced. Remove basil sprigs and serve.

IMG_2213

 

 

When the beans have simmered for about 10 minutes and look like this, it’s time to….

 

 

IMG_2214

 

….add the basil! Then simmer away some more.

 

 

 

IMG_2215

 

This is what it looks like when it has simmered and is ready to go…just take the basil out first!

 

 

 

This is a seriously simple side that tastes amazing! It will be even better when made with the fresh tomatoes that will arrive in my garden in a few weeks. No taste better captures the essence of summer than fresh tomato and basil, if you ask me.

IMG_2216

Now, what to pair these beans with for a garden-fresh summer meal? So glad you asked. How about a Sobey’s Compliments Chipotle BBQ chicken breast, quinoa with balsamic sage mushrooms, and corn on the cob? Yes, I think that would be nice.

All joking aside, this was one tasty, summer-licious meal. The only downside? A lot of pots to clean – between cooking the quinoa, the beans, the corn and sautéing the ‘shrooms – that was 4 pans!!! Good thing there was no clean up from grilling the chicken! Smile with tongue out

Do you have any favourite “unconventional” summer sides (besides the usual suspects – potato salad, corn-on-the-cob, etc)?

9 Responses to “Oats, peas, beans and barley grow”

  1. Donna @ Life of a Happy Blonde July 19, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    That quinoa sounds yummy except for the mushrooms, ewwww! 🙂
    Hmmm my fav summer sides are zucchini fries and tomatos roasted with cheese on top, yum!
    I hate having tons of pots to clean, but sometimes its oh so worth it!

    • hungryhealthyhilary July 19, 2011 at 11:19 am #

      I think me and Katie are going to have to peer pressure you into liking mushrooms, you’re really missing out!

  2. Er July 19, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    I like just sliced tomato with mozzarella, zucchini with tomato, or a good pasta & veggie salad.

  3. realfoodkatiesway July 19, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    I love love love love LOVE baked beans!! It’s absolutely crazy how much I love them….Summer, Winter, Fall, Spring….But being that it’s summer right now, BAKED BEANS are my fav!!

    PS I went to buy a watermelon yesterday and there wasn’t one to be found….I can’t begin to describe my devastation 😦

  4. helennaturally July 19, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    I can’t really say that I have any unconventional summer dishes. I love the usual summer foods – berries, watermelon, fresh veggies, and watermelon – oh yes watermelon……..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You say tomato… « hungryhealthyhilary - August 8, 2011

    […] other Roma/plum tomato usage I’m highlighting is in my Sicilian green beans that were an accompaniment to my pizza Friday night (if it looks like a light meal, that’s […]

Leave a Reply

