Shake it up Baby!

20 Jul

IMG_2211

Weather forecast: it is HOT! Sun…. just in case you didn’t know (I’m sure you all needed me to tell you that). According to CBC radio and my guy Nick Czerncovich (I googled him just so I would spell his name right on the blog, okay? Leave me alone), it is officially a heat wave when the temperature is at or above 32 degrees Celsius (I learned that last week).  Yesterday, Nick told me that Thursday’s temperature in Toronto (surprisingly, he wasn’t commenting on Simcoe’s weather) could break an all-time record for the city…as in, not just for that specific month, or day, but ALL TIME! If it’s above 38.3, we have ourselves a record. Nick also told me that more likely than not, we’ll be in that heat wave territory by the end of the week. Now aren’t you glad I listen to CBC radio (only in the car) so I could pass this information on to you all?

Anyway, other than locking yourself in an air-conditioned building and/or mooching off of your friends and family who have pools (that’s what I do)…how can you beat the heat? Nice, cold milkshakes and smoothies, of course. So I’m here to share a couple cold drinks that have come our of the HHH kitchen lately.

The first one, pictured at top, is a berry lemonade smoothie. To make it, I used:

  • 2 individual containers of Source strawberry yogurt (any brand/berry yogurt flavour would do)
  • Sugar-Free Cranberry lemonade crystals (any lemonade-type mix would do here…the one I used was from the US…in Canada, your best best would be to use a single-serving package of Crystal Light Pink Lemonade)
  • Cold water (I didn’t measure…probably about 1/2 or 3/4 cup – use more or less, depending on how thick you want your drink)
  • About 6 ice cubes

To make it, just put everything in a blender and blend until smooth – you’re good to go!IMG_2219

The second recipe I’m going to share with you is definitely more of a shake than a smoothie – it was Monday night’s dessert.

Cherry Mocha Shake

Serves 2

  • 1 cup black forest ice cream (don’t have a batch of homemade ice cream in your freezer? Just use your favourite chocolate fro yo and add in a few pitted cherries…honestly, you couldn’t even really taste them)
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • Between 1/2 and 1 cup cold brewed coffee (I didn’t measure….sorry!)
  • 1/4 cup sugar-free chocolate syrup
  • Ice cubes (about 6)
  • A fresh cherry and fat-free Reddi-Whip for garnish, optional

IMG_2218

Combine all ingredients (other than garnishes) in blender. Blend until smooth.

Pour into two tall glasses. If desired, top with a squirt of Reddi-Whip and a cherry (cut through on one side with a knife first so it will sit on the glass).

….you couldn’t really taste the cherries from the ice cream, but this was still good! Basically just a chocolate shake…nothing wrong with that though!

IMG_2064

The last recipe I’m sharing with you isn’t a shake or a smoothie, but it’s a cold, sweet drink, so it works, right? (and it’s my blog, so I’m the boss)….I’m talking my basic iced coffee recipe (side note: isn’t it cute in my Target cup?). And although it hasn’t made it on here much (I don’t want to bore you with the same thing over and over again), I’ve been drinking these A LOT this summer…they’re so easy, I figured it was time for a quick tutorial. And at less than 50 calories for the whole thing, this is WAY better than what you’ll get at Starbucks and the Golden Arches, for a fraction of the price. Let’s get going!

Basic Iced Coffee for One

  • 1 cup unsweetened original Almond Breeze (or use a flavoured one, I just have lots of unsweetened original since I bought it at Costco)
  • Cold brewed coffee (I just steal my mom’s leftovers, make it from instant/water or brew a pot then refrigerate it in a jar)to taste (use more for a stronger coffee flavour, less if you like it weaker)
  • Splenda to taste (or if you have sugar-free flavoured syrups, those are awesome. I sometimes use caramel and it’s delish!)
  • A splash of vanilla (omit if using flavoured syrup)
  • LOTS of ice

Combine all ingredients except ice in a tall glass. Stir, add more coffee or Splenda if needed. IMG_2221

Load that cup up with lots of ice.

Enjoy!

If you’ve got a travel mug (like mine? It was free from the Teacher’s Credit Union at an orientation last fall…and I don’t even bank with them), any of these drinks can be enjoyed to-go!

2 more things before I go:

1. Speaking of cool things, I really want to try a Starbucks Bistro Box! Have you heard of them? They’re little portion-controlled cold meal boxes that come in tasty-sounding flavours like chipotle chicken wraps, sesame noodles and more. And they’re all less than 500 calories, and most come with chocolate…sweet! If you try one, let me know (and I will do the same).

2. Thank you so so much for all the support and love via comments, texts, emails and facebook after I shared with you my gloomy mood in Sunday’s post. I know it was a bit of a pity party, and I debated sharing with you, but I really try to keep it real on here, and I wanted to be up front and honest with you all. I’m happy to report that I’m out of my funk, and I felt so loved after hearing from all of you…so once again…thank you!

Happy hump day all! SmileAny favourite shake ore smoothie recipes/tips to share?

3 Responses to “Shake it up Baby!”

  1. Donna @ Life of a Happy Blonde July 20, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Umm can we get those Starbucks boxes in canada if so, i want!!!!!!!
    Sucks you can’t make it UFC but Stratford is going to be so much more fun, lol!
    I work Thursday evening and have family dinner and then Friday is the move so probably next week once we are a little more settled in we will have to have our coffee date – i’m off all week 🙂

  2. realfoodkatiesway July 21, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    I love milkshake recreations!!! That’s quite the combination!

    You guys have the heat wave and we were shivering last night in bed! It was CHILLY! So it looks like we are out of the hot box!! Stay cool my dear!

    Now I’m off to pick up a gate and shovel my heart (and back) out all day!

Leave a Reply

