Quick and Cool

22 Jul

As per the subject line, this is just going to be a quick post, as I was gone for about 12 hours yesterday (funeral out of town).

Tuesday night I needed supper fast. It was after 6 o’clock, and I was hungry. It was IMG_2222hot outside, and I didn’t want to make something that would require a lot of time and heat. So I went for something burger-inspired that only needed a microwave – no grill, stovetop or oven – Hungry Girl’s Big Bad Burger Wrap. I have to say, this is one of my favourite HG recipes. It comes from her 200 under 200 Cookbook. It’s easy to make, and full of classic burger flavour. Here’s how it all goes down.

Hungry Girl’s Big Bad Burger Wrap from 200 under 200

    1 large tortilla (low calorie if possible – I use my beloved flatout wraps)
    1 Boca Original Meatless Burger (or whatever type you can find here in Canada)
    1 wedge Laughing Cow Light Original Swiss cheese
    1 pickle spear, chopped (you can also add chopped onion, as I often do).
    1 teaspoon mustard
    1 teaspoon ketchup
    2 dashes Hot Sauce of your choice
      Prepare Boca patty according to box directions, either in the microwave or in a pan sprayed with nonstick spray. Chop patty into bite-sized pieces. Set aside.
      To make sauce, combine mustard, ketchup, and hot sauce in a small dish. Stir well and set aside.
      Warm tortilla in the microwave for 10 seconds. Lay tortilla flat and spread cheese wedge on top.
      Place chopped burger and pickle in the center of the tortilla. Top with sauce. Fold the sides of the tortilla in, and then roll it up from the bottom. Enjoy!

    IMG_2223

    On the side, I had a HUGE, super-awesome Mediterranean Quinoa Salad. As best as I can remember, here’s what went in it:

    • chopped tomatoes
    • chopped pickling cucumbers (LOVE the crunch!)
    • spinach leaves
    • chopped green onion
    • chopped red onion (hey, I love onion – what can I say?)
    • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa (I love cooking up a big batch and having it leftover in the fridge)
    • chopped red pepper

    My dressing was a mix of fat-free Italian salad dressing, red wine vinegar, Dijon mustard and olive oil. Of course, there was salt and pepper over it all. Mmm….this salad was absolutely delicious, very filling, and loaded with fresh summer flavours. In other words, pretty much perfect – I’d definitely make it again!

    Happy weekend friends! Hope you can enjoy the beautiful weather – but stay cool! Any exciting plans? I’ve got 2 pool parties on the horizon (I’ll be sharing the tasty appetizer recipe I made for today’s party shortly).

    3 Responses to “Quick and Cool”

    1. Katie@Real Food Katie's Way July 22, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

      That salad looks to die for babe!!

      I hope you have an awesome weekend!

      We are headed out to the cottage for a cool and wet weekend of hauling rocks for the retaining wall! It was destroyed with all of the flooding we had in spring…

      Sunday should be warm and sunny but tomorrow will be cool and rainy!!

    2. runningaroundnormal July 23, 2011 at 7:54 am #

      I’m not a huge fan of Hungry Girl – but there are some really good recipes she has!

    Leave a Reply

