Q and A’s for Summer

25 Jul

IMG_2276

Happy Monday! Today’s post has a question and answer theme. I’m not enough of a “big-time blogger” yet that I receive multiple questions via email (maybe some day), so I’ve decided to create my own questions, and give you the answers…enjoy!

Question one: Why does the propane tank on the BBQ always run out on me when I’m home alone, I’ve waited too long to have dinner, and my stomach is eating itself in hunger?

IMG_2279

 

Answer one: I’m gonna have to say I don’t know on this one, but at least I had a nice grilled veggie, dill and goat cheese pizza (basically the same as this one, only no bacon, dill instead of parsley, and goat instead of Tex-Mex cheese) at the end of it all (with a side of beets and sautéed beet greens to go with it).IMG_2257

Question two: How do you improve upon the culinary triumph that was the bubbling berry biscuit bake?

Answer two: Find the oven-safe dish you couldn’t last time, make it with a mix of raspberries and blueberries, and bake at 400 for 20 minutes (perfect time and temperature). Enjoy the biscuits, berry goodness, and melt-y vanilla ice cream. Smile

IMG_2272

Question three: How do you switch up the cool and creamy red pepper and tomato gazpacho you’ve been loving lately and give it a bit of a south-western kick?

Answer three: Make it exactly the same way you have in the past, only swap out the basil for cilantro, add a splash of lime juice, and a touch of cumin, chili powder and chipotle chili powder. Garnish with chopped cucumber, tomato, green onion, cilantro and a dollop of Greek yogurt. Mmm….this was cool and creamy like I’ve been loving, but I enjoyed the different flavour profile. It is kind of odd though, to eat something that’s spicy and cold at the same time. Not bad, just a different sensation.

IMG_2275

 

Question four: What do you have for a Saturday afternoon snack that you can eat while blogging/catching up on other blogs that is healthy but just a little decadent?

Answer four: A bowl of the best cherries you’ve had all summer and a fiber one 90 calorie chocolate brownie, naturally! Healthy cherries and chocolate? Sign me up!

 

IMG_2291

IMG_2289

 

 

 

 

 

 

Question five: What do you eat for supper when you’ve been cooking all day in preparation for the pool party you’re catering for your Aunt, you’ve been grazing all afternoon in the kitchen (including way more mocha cupcake batter and coffee frosting than you care to admit), you’re hot, you’re sweaty, and you want something light, filling, and that doesn’t require any heat?

IMG_2290

*Okay, side note here before we get to answer five. Public service announcement: the coffee frosting I made yesterday should be illegal. It is just WAY too good. Now, I’m not saying that to brag and tell you how awesome I am for making it. It’s just the truth. I’m not posting the recipe for two reasons: 1. It’s seriously dangerously good and addictive. 2. I made it up as I went along and didn’t pay attention to measurements. You see, I’m a cake and icing SNOB, I’ll admit it. Birthday, anniversary, shower cakes that are purchased from a grocery store and decorated with sugary frosting? Duncan Hines from a can? I’ll pass. I find that stuff pretty flavourless and uninteresting (not trying to be mean, just being honest). But this icing, man, it was something else. Because of the coffee in it, it had loads of flavour, but the bitterness of the coffee kept it from being overly sweet. And while I’m not a straight-up coffee drinker, I LOVE anything coffee-flavoured. Cappuccino frozen yogurt, anything with the word “mocha,” my homemade iced coffee drinks, Starbucks frappuccinos (don’t even get me started)…I’m there! Which is why this icing was SO DEADLY. I just kept eating it. I may have even dreamt about swimming in the stuff. Anyway, just had to warn you. That concludes this public service announcement.*

IMG_2292

Answer five: a nice plate of bits and bites, comprised of a seriously tasty salad of baby cucumbersRed heart, garden-fresh beans and peas, tomatoes, red onion and a dressing of seasoned rice vinegar, fat-free Italian dressing and olive oil; veggies and artichoke hummus;  a roasted red pepper spread with goat cheese and fresh basil and rolled up; ham slices wrapped around the last of the pineapple you had leftover from making pineapple chicken teriyaki skewers and fat-free Lays Ruffles chips from the US of A. And for dessert…lemon ginger frozen yogurt with fresh berries.

That about sums up today’s Q and A.

Two Q’s for you: What have you made/someone made for you that you found absolutely irresistible/dangerously delicious? And…are there any questions you have for me (don’t be shy). Winking smile

9 Responses to “Q and A’s for Summer”

  1. Catherine M.A. July 25, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    the batter for kate mackeracher’s shortcake….i can’t stop. i could eat the whole bowl, if i didn’t have company coming over that i had already promised shortcake to.

    also, grandma abbott’s homemade mac and cheese. i think i have an extra stomach installed every time i eat this, because i just can’t seem to stop myself.

    and my question for you–when/where do you find you are most culinarily creative/get your best ideas, and why?

    • hungryhealthyhilary July 25, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      That is a tough Q….I will have to think about that one, and perhaps reply in a later post.

  2. Jill Cornell July 25, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    I found your blog after reading today’s Simcoe Reformer – what a great space you have on the web. I do believe that you are the same Hilary whose name is forever written in the cement in our basement on Lee Ave!!!

    Take Care,
    Jill

  3. realfoodkatiesway July 25, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    Cute post! I love tasting plates…

    So here’s my questions!

    Do you set a goal each week regarding how many new recipes you are going to try out? AND AND AND do you subscribe to any food magazines?

    • hungryhealthyhilary July 26, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      To be replied to in a future post….(I know, the suspense is killing you).

  4. Catherine M.A. July 26, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    another q from me: could you do a post of some of your salad dressing greatest hits? i would love to have all your dressings (or at least a few of them) in one place!!

    thanks!

    i love you, and your blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life is funny… « hungryhealthyhilary - August 5, 2011

    […] Q and As for Summer This was the day my stats went through the roof. While I’d like to say it was all because of me, a very large part of it was that this was the day I was featured in my local paper…yeah, that might have been why. Still a good post though! […]

Leave a Reply

