Fajita Fiesta

30 Jul

IMG_2354

Happy Long Weekend fellow Canadians (and happy Saturday everyone else)! I hope you are enjoying the beautiful summer weather.

Last night was our first round of entertaining for the weekend, so I decided to do a BBQ version of fajitas. I love fajitas. They’re actually one of my go-to choices at restaurants when there’s not a lot of healthy stuff to choose from, as it’s easy to pick and choose which toppings you want. And it’s a great meal to feed a group for the same reason – you put what you want on your fajita, so it suits a variety of preferences.

IMG_2352

IMG_2353

 

 

 

 

 

 

But since it is summer time and grilling is practically an institution when entertaining, I decided to take things outside and do the meat and veggies on the BBQ instead of in a skillet on the stove (bonus: saves calories because you don’t need oil).

IMG_2335

I decided to do a “mixed grill” of chicken and steak (but I marinated all the meat in the same bag – I don’t know if that’s a no-no or not, but you know me, always the rebel).

The marinade was pretty simple, and, not to toot my own horn, but it turned out really well. The meat was tender and super-flavourful. I used 2 Mesquite-marinated steaks from M&M, so they added a bit of their seasoning, then I added:

  • lime juice
  • red wine vinegar
  • Ancho chile powder (Ancho is great because it’s not as spicy as a lot of other chiles, but still adds great Mexican flavour)
  • cumin
  • Epicure salsa seasoning
  • a few cloves garlic, lightly crushed
  • salt and pepper

IMG_2336I put my steaks and chicken breasts in a Ziploc bag and marinated in the fridge for several hours, turning the bag several times to distribute the marinade.

I grilled the meat over high heat, then removed, covered with foil and let it rest while I grilled the veggies (red pepper, Vidalia onion and zucchini), which I sprayed with PAM for the grill and seasoned with salt and pepper.

IMG_2355

After the meat had rested for about 10 minutes (this helps keep all the juices in), I thinly sliced it (along with the veggies) and plated it all up. For tortillas, I went with Dempster’s whole wheat Body Wise tortillas (I know corn is more authentic, but the grocery store didn’t have them and I wasn’t in the mood to go hunting).

IMG_2356

We had a wide variety of other toppings, which included:

Our sides were delicious, local corn on the cob and red cabbage slaw (same recipe I made for my mom’s birthday, only with the addition of a Granny Smith apple I had leftover) .

I think it was safe to say that the meal was enjoyed by all. This is a pretty easy meal to put together for summer entertaining, and a nice change from the usual steaks or burgers (not that there’s anything wrong with that).

Speaking of burgers, we’re hosting a build-your-own-burger bar supper here tomorrow night for between 12 to 18 people! It’s going to be epic, with lots of decadent toppings and some seriously delicious 80/20 style desserts! So I may or may not make it on to HHH to update you tomorrow, but I plan to do NOTHING Monday, so for sure I’ll be back by then.

Since in my town on the August long weekend, we celebrate Friendship Festival (yes, one of the advantages of living in a small town, we are cool enough that we have a weekend-long festival devoted to friends), I would like once again to wish you, my blog-friends, a happy long weekend. May it be filled with food, family, and FRIENDS!

5 Responses to “Fajita Fiesta”

  1. Anita July 30, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Hi Hilary – I love your blog and have tried a few of your recipes – yummy. I’m going to an Epicure party soon – what do you recommend? I don’t like too spicy, but I do like flavour. I’m trying to eat more healthy.
    Thanks,
    Anita

    • hungryhealthyhilary July 30, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      Hi Anita…glad you’ve tried some recipes. If you don’t like spicy, I’d recommend the French Onion Dip mix, any of their salts are good, Lemon Dilly Dip mix and Herb and Garlic are also really good…I use all of these for way more than just dip…throw in “a little of this, a little of that.” here and there. I really like the Pueblo Bean Dip mix, but it’s a bit spicier…but if they have a sample of it, try it and see…I don’t think it’s too hot, but I’m a bad one to ask!

  2. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun July 31, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    I didn’t realize its a long weekend for you! That’s awesome. Hope its been a good one so far. The fajitas definitely look like they have made for some good eating. 🙂

  3. realfoodkatiesway August 2, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Looks great!!! I love fajitas…And greek yogurt for that matter!

    We’d have so much fun if we lived closer!

    • hungryhealthyhilary August 2, 2011 at 10:54 am #

      Well, I do have fun “with you” now…I just know there’s a reason why you have to move to Ontario with Donna and I, just haven’t figured it out yet!

Leave a Reply

