Life is funny…

5 Aug

If you’re like me before I started my own blog, you read other people’s blogs, and hear them talk about how much blogging has changed your life, and think things like “oh sure,” “that’s nice,” “sounds good.” But when you start your own blog, you get it.HLS badge

Take for example, my upcoming trip to the Healthy Living Summit (which I am SO excited about by the way…in 2 weeks I will be there)! I went out on a limb, asked 2 bloggers I didn’t know to go with me, and was all set to go with Donna. I met up with her in person a couple times, and now have a blog buddy who lives just over a half hour away…sweet!

But….long story short, passport issues forced Donna to cancel her trip! Sad smile While this was (and is) a MAJOR bummer, I have found someone else to make the trip with me. It’s crazy how this blog has put me in touch with people from my past. All my posts publicize on facebook, so I never know who reads. Well, Katie, my best friend from childhood/early high school, who I have been mostly out of touch with for several years and is now a dietician, has become quite  the avid reader. She had left comments on the blog a couple of times, so I contacted her to see if she wanted to catch up and go out for dinner – right around the same time the Donna drama was going down (Donna, love ya girl and DO NOT in any way think you’re a drama queen…it just sounds fun to say).

I went out on a limb AGAIN and asked my friend Katie to go with me, and after consideration, she said yes! So I have a HLS partner in crime once again! And she even liked my new idea to stop in Hershey, Pennsylvania on the way back (yes, I know it’s sort of ironic to stop in Chocolatetown USA on the way back from the Healthy Living Summit).

IMG_2458

Katie and I still got together for dinner this week. We went to one of my FAVOURITE local restaurants (okay, we don’t have all that many to choose from), The Blue Elephant. It is a restaurant the specializes in Thai food and pub fare. Another thing I LOVE about the Blue Elephant is they really make an effort to feature local produce, and have a different featured local menu each month.

Now, you wouldn’t expect a restaurant specializing in pub fare and Thai food to have a lot of healthy choices, would you? But surprisingly, the Blue Elephant does. I went with my standard – lunch in a bowl (even though it was supper. For lunch I get the half order ‘cause it’s HUGE). For lunch in a bowl, you choose your meat – chicken or pork. You choose your starch – noodles or rice. And you choose your level of spiciness. I went with what I almost do – chicken, noodles, medium. It’s just a BIG bowl of soup, seasoned with Thai spices, the meat and starch and LOADS of veggies. A total healthy eating SCORE for restaurant fare, if you ask me. It was delicious as usual.

Speaking of Donna, everyone’s favourite Happy Blonde, she nominated me for the blogger fun that is “7 links” earlier this week. If you, like me, don’t know what that is, here are the goal and the rules:

The Goal:

To unite bloggers (from all sectors) in a joint endeavour to share lessons learned and create a bank of old, but not forgotten, blog posts that deserve to see the light of day again.

The Rules:

1. Blogger is nominated to participate.
2. Blogger publishes his/her 7 links–1 link for each category.
3. Blogger nominates 5 more bloggers to participate.

So, here goes!

Most Beautiful

Oh Happy Day! Ok, so compared to a lot of the tear-jerking, emotional posts out there, this might not be at the top. But it does tell the story of why I ran a marathon, and shares the joy of new growth in the garden, so those things are beautiful to me.

Most Popular

Q and As for Summer This was the day my stats went through the roof. While I’d like to say it was all because of me, a very large part of it was that this was the day I was featured in my local paper…yeah, that might have been why. Still a good post though!

Most Controversial

I don’t consider myself highly controversial, but I would say my recent post In a Funk generated a lot of buzz (thank you once again to all of you who commented/facebooked or emailed positive feedback, it meant a lot). It was controversial to me, because I wasn’t sure if it was a good idea to get that real or raw about issues I was facing, but I decided it was worth it in my efforts to “keep it real” (hopefully it was).

Most Helpful

My Favourite Things: Winter Fruits and Veggies Edition. Sorry, I know it’s not in season right now (but don’t forget this one come December!). But this is where I first told you all about my love for kale chips (and several of you have since told me you’ve tried them). I also shared a lot of my favourite ways to use ingredients I love but that might not be so familiar to you all. I love doing these favourite things posts (I should get on that soon!).

Post who’s success surprised you

I fit a whole state in the oven, the post where I showed you step-by-step when I made baked Alaska. I was just surprised at how many hits it got, especially since it isn’t really a “typical” healthy food (although you can make it with low fat cake and frozen yogurt and it’s not too bad). I guess you all just enjoyed looking and the process and results?!

Post that did not get the attention it deserved

I echo Donna’s sentiments on this one – I’m happy with any attention I get and truly enjoy writing all my posts, despite the numbers. However, I posted this one on Favourite Things: Healthy but not-so-whole foods on Canada Day (and if you were out celebrating our great nation, I bear no grudge that you weren’t inside reading my blog), so it didn’t get as many views, and I feel like it’s a really interesting topic that I would love to hear more feedback on.

Post you are most proud of

The Wynn Workout This is when I was on vacation and made the best of a bad situation and created my own KILLER workout consisting of running hotel stairs, body weight resistance exercises and swimming. I felt pretty hard core, and was proud of myself for McGuiver-ing up a workout. I am also proud of this post, because it showed me working up a sweat AND indulging in a major way on vacation – pretty much my constant battle (minus the vacation part).

Now for the nominations (drumroll, please!):

Errign’s Adventures

Read Eat Sweat

The Sometimes Healthy Living Blog

I’m not quite following the rules because a) I’m a rebel (but you already knew that), b)it’s quite late as I type this and c) several of my favourite blog buddies have already been nominated.

It took a bit of effort to dig those up, but it was fun – hope you enjoy reading them! Happy Friday friends!

Question: If you are a blogger, what crazy connection has blogging made in your life? If not, how have you re-connected with someone from your past in an unexpected way?

Leave a Reply

